The Dubuque Symphony Orchestra has announced its 2019-2020 season, marking 61 years for the ensemble and 50 years for its youth ensembles program.

In recognition, the orchestra will devote the season to the theme, “YOUTH,” with well-known works written for the young-at-heart, including “Peter and the Wolf” and “The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra,” as well as fairy tale pieces from “Mother Goose” and “Hansel and Gretel.”

Programs also will present music that captures a youthful spirit, such as Haydn’s “Surprise” symphony and Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue,” as well as music written at an early age by Mozart, Mendelssohn, Samuel Barber and Dubuque-native Adam O’Dell.

The spotlight also turns to young artists, including members of the Heartland Ballet, the Dubuque Symphony Youth Orchestra and violin prodigy Grace Clifford.

“Since music itself rejuvenates the spirit, this season of youth-themed concerts will help each of us nurture our inner child, remember the innocence and optimism of the young and find our musical fountain of youth,” said music director and conductor William Intriligator in a press release.

Concerts in spring of 2020 also will honor the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth and include youthful, early pieces by the composer.

In addition to the Classics series, the symphony also has announced the dates of its Casual Concerts: Holiday Family (Saturday, Dec. 7), traditional Holiday Concerts (Saturday-Sunday, Dec. 7-8), Ultimate Rock Hits (Friday-Saturday, Jan. 17-18), Family Concert (Saturday, Feb. 22), Ultimate Country Hits (Saturday, May 16) and the free Summer Melodies Concert (Sunday, June 28 2020).

Season ticket sales open to the public on Monday, June 24. Packages of three, four or five Classics concerts are available.

New subscribers (or those who haven’t subscribed for the past three years) save 30 percent off single ticket pricing with the Full 5 package. To order, call 563-557-1677 or visit the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra office, 2728 Asbury Road, in the lower level of the Atrium building in Fountain Park.

Single tickets go on sale Monday, Aug. 19. Tickets to concerts at Five Flags Theater can be purchased at the Five Flags box office or through Ticketmaster.com. Single tickets to Ultimate Rock or Ultimate Country at the Mississippi Moon Bar will be available through the Diamond Jo Casino box office this fall and winter.

For more information, visit www.dubuquesymphony.org.

Schedule

Classics 1: Rhapsody — 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 5; 2 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 6.

Classics 2: Mozart to Mendelssohn — 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2; 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 3.

Classics 3: Peter and the Wolf — 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 22; 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 23.

Classics 4: Captivating Concerti — 7:30 p.m. Saturday, March 28; 2 p.m. Sunday, March 29.

Classics 5: Heartland Marimba — 7:30 p.m. Saturday, May 2; 2 p.m. Sunday, May 3.

Copyright, Telegraph Herald. This story cannot be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior authorization from the TH.