Iowa Senate District 29

A Republican has unseated a two-term incumbent Democrat for an eastern Iowa Senate District race.

Carrie Koelker, of Dyersville, received 15,207 votes to Democratic Iowa Sen. Tod Bowman’s 13,247.

Bowman has served two terms in the Iowa Senate and has been a government teacher for 30 years. Koelker has served as executive director of Eastern Iowa Tourism in Dyersville for 19 years.

The district covers all of Jackson County and much of Dubuque and Jones counties.

Iowa House of Representatives District 56

A Republican is retaining the Iowa House District 56 seat.

Anne Osmundson, of Volga, topped Democratic challenger Lori Egan, of Waukon, in Tuesday’s election. The seat was vacant because Republican Kristi Hager opted against seeking re-election after a single term in the Iowa House.

Osmundson earned 6,764 votes to Egan’s 4,845.

Osmundson, who runs a farm with her husband, spent two years as a clerk for Hager.

The district represents much of Clayton County and all of Allamakee County.

Iowa House District 58

Andy McKean, R-Anamosa, has earned another two-year term in the Iowa House.

He defeated Democrat Joe Oclon, of Maquoketa, 8,988 votes to 3,997 in Tuesday’s election.

McKean has served eight two-year terms in the Iowa House and 10 years in the Iowa Senate.

The district covers all of Jackson County, a small portion of Dubuque County, including Cascade, and more than half of Jones County.

Iowa House District 96

Iowa Rep. Lee Hein, R-Monticello, cruised in his re-election bid for the Iowa House District 96 seat.

He topped his Democratic challenger, Reenie Montgomery, of Manchester, earning 7,521 votes. Montgomery earned 4,487 votes.

A farmer, Hein has served four terms in the Iowa House.

The district encompasses all of Delaware County and a portion of western Jones County.

Copyright, Telegraph Herald. This story cannot be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior authorization from the TH.