2019 Secretary's Choice

Revin Devon, the 2019 Secretary's Choice winner at Iowa Greyhound Park.

Iowa Greyhound Park’s Greyhound of the Year Revin Devon finally got assigned the 1 box in today’s Secretary’s Choice, and he made the field pay.

The Copper Kettle Kennel entrant led the entire way to claim his third stakes title in a row, posting a 30.69. He won the Iowa Breeders’ Cup and Future Star.

Revin also narrowly lost the Dubuque Classic.

“He breaks well out of the 1 box,” Jake Ungs, trainer, said. “Once he gets a lead no one can touch him.”

Trainer of the Year added: “He can run from any hole.”

Hogs Hailey Joy placed. She tried to close, but Revin Devon kept churning and pulling away.

Super C Jazzy and Sweet Repeat completed the board.

Devon paid $4, $2.60 and $2.20.

The purse is $500, with a breakdown of $250, $125, $75 and $50 to the top four finishers.

Slatex Elvis, from Jackson Greyhounds, won in 2015 and 2016. Superior Cannon, of Superior Kennel, won in 2017 and 2018.

Copyright, Telegraph Herald. This story cannot be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior authorization from the TH.