Clayton, Jackson and Jones counties in Iowa have been added to a presidential disaster declaration.

Gov. Kim Reynolds’ office announced Thursday that 13 counties, including those three, have been added to the declaration issued by President Donald Trump in March. The declaration covers areas impacted by service weather from March 12 to May 16.

That makes public entities and nonprofits in those areas eligible for the federal Public Assistance Program, according to a press release.

“These counties are now eligible to apply for funding for emergency work and protective measures, along with assistance for permanent work, including repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities,” the release states.

Now, 71 of Iowa’s 99 counties are covered by the declaration. Delaware and Dubuque counties are among the 28 counties not covered.

Copyright, Telegraph Herald. This story cannot be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior authorization from the TH.