The 2021 redistricting brought several Republican Iowa state lawmakers’ would-be representation into eastern Iowa counties — new areas and new voters who have gotten a lot of attention lately.

For the past 10 years, Dubuque County had been split between four Iowa House of Representative districts: two in the city of Dubuque, one over most of the rural part of the county and one that lumped the county’s portion of Cascade and the southwest corner of the county in with Jackson County and eastern Jones County to the south. Currently, those are represented by Iowa Reps. Chuck Isenhart and Lindsay James, D-Dubuque, Shannon Lundgren, R-Peosta, and Steve Bradley, R-Cascade, respectively.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.