TH sports editor


The Dubuque Wahlert athletic program received a prestigious national honor this spring.

The National Athletic Trainers’ Association awarded Wahlert its Safe Sports School award.

The award champions safety and recognizes secondary schools that have met the recommended standards to improve safety in sports. The award reinforces the importance of providing the best level of care, injury prevention, and treatment.

“We remain committed to keeping our student athletes safe during team practices and games, so they can accomplish their own goals of success, sportsmanship and good health,” Wahlert athletic trainer Molly Pilcher said. “Our goal is to lead our athletics program to the highest safety standards for our players.”

To achieve Safe Sports School status, athletic programs must: create a positive athletic health care administrative system; provide or coordinate pre-participation physical examinations; promote safe and appropriate practice and competition facilities; plan for selection, fit function and proper maintenance of athletic equipment; provide a permanent, appropriately equipped area to evaluate and treat injured athletes; develop injury and illness prevention strategies, including protocols for environmental conditions; provide or facilitate injury intervention; create and rehearse a venue-specific Emergency Action Plan; provide or facilitate psychosocial consultation and nutritional counseling/education; and be sure athletes and parents are educated about the potential benefits and risks in sports as well as their responsibilities

“The health and safety of student-athletes are critical as it has both immediate and long-term effects,” NATA President Tory Lindley said. “NATA created the ‘Safe Sports School Award’ to recognize and champion schools nationwide that are committed to enhancing safety in sports. We are proud to see the list of award recipients grow exponentially each year as schools see the immense value in holding themselves to best practices and policies that ensure a high standard of athlete care.”

To apply, schools complete an in-depth questionnaire that assesses adherence to best practice standards and recommendations. For more information about the Safe Sports School Award, visit


Three players and one coach from Southwest Wisconsin have been selected to participate in the Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association’s 36th Annual All-Star Classic. Shullsburg/Benton’s Jacob Berendes and Nathan Mowry and Prairie du Chien’s Gavin Gillitzer will play for Team South, and Cuba City’s Steve Graber will serve as one of the team’s three coaches.

The Classic, which features 72 of the state’s best seniors and 12 coaches divided onto four teams, will take place Friday, June 27 and Saturday, June 28 in Oshkosh. The four teams will play a round-robin tournament with two games on Friday and four more on Saturday.


Cary Eades, who coached the Dubuque Fighting Saints to the 1993 National Junior A championship, has been named the new president of hockey operations for the USHL’s Fargo Force and has stepped aside from the coaching duties he has held with the team since 2015.

Pierre-Paul Lamoureux has been promoted to head coach and Eli Rosendahl has been promoted to associate head coach/goalie coach for the Force.

Email More than the Score items to