Dubuque Wahlert’s Libby Wedewer waves to her fans after winning the Iowa Class 3A girls 200 Meter Dash during the Iowa State Track & Field Championships at Drake Stadium in Des Moines, on Saturday, May 18 Wedewer won her first individual state title in the event.


Libby Wedewer (jr., Wahlert)

Wedewer recorded the fastest 200 time in Iowa to win her first individual state title and helped the Golden Eagles to a repeat championship in the 4x200, first in the 4x100 and earned a second-place medal in the 100 in 2019.

Janyla Hoskins (jr., Hempstead)

Alongside some of Iowa’s all-time greats, Hoskins cracked the Iowa Class 4A 100-meter finals and earned a sixth-place medal.

Brynlee Nelson (soph., Fennimore)

The future is bright for the Golden Eagle, who earned a runner-up finish in the Wisconsin Division 3 400-meter dash and anchored Fennimore to a state title in the 4x400.

Distance Claire Edmondson (jr., Dubuque Senior)

Edmondson qualified for both the Drake Relays and the Iowa Class 4A state meet in the 800, 1,500 and 3,000, medaling in each event.

Kayci Martensen (fr., Benton/Scales Mound/Shullsburg)

It’ll be hard to improve upon what Martensen has already achieved at the Wisconsin Division 3 state level, where she won titles in both the 1,600 and 3,200 in dominant fashion.


Aliyah Carter (jr., Wahlert)

The Golden Eagles junior clinched back-to-back long jump titles by breaking her own Iowa Class 3A state meet record with a jump of 18-feet, 8 ½ inches.

Brinley Wood (sr., Cuba City)

The high-flying Cuban beat out her personal best at the Wisconsin Division 3 state meet, a 5-foot-4 high jump that earned Wood a state title.

Nicole Johnson (jr., Dodgeville/Mineral Point)

In her first Wisconsin state meet, Johnson earned herself a Division 2 high jump title at 5-foot-2.


Parker Kopp (jr., Cuba City)

Bouncing back from a torn ACL, the Cuban launched a 120-foot-, 5-inch discus toss to win silver at the Wisconsin Division 3 state meet.

Shayla Oster (soph., Bellevue)

Reached the Drake Relays’ Blue Standard in discus throw and then rose to fifth place in the event at the Iowa Class 2A state meet, Oster will be an athlete to look out for the next couple of years.


Heather Boeckenstedt (sr., Dyersville Beckman)

Boeckenstedt capped a sensational track career by coming out of Lane 6 to capture back-to-back Iowa Class 2A state 100 hurdle championships.


Wahlert 4x100 (Ariana Yaklich, Aliyah Carter, Abigail Wallace, Libby Wedewer) — Despite tweaking its lineup for the Iowa Class 3A final, the foursome nonetheless captured state gold and clocked the second-fastest time in Iowa this year.

Wahlert 4x200 (Clare Broderick, Molly McDonald, Alaina Schmidt, Libby Wedewer) — No matter who seems to be running on Wahlert’s 4x2, state titles are in their fortune. The Eagles won their third straight state title in the event with the new additions of McDonald and Schmidt.

Fennimore 4x400 (Lauryn Bunn, Maddy Adam, Delanee Klass, Brynlee Nelson) — A young squad containing two sophomores and a freshman raced to gold at the Wisconsin Division 3 state meet last week.

Dubuque Senior 4x800 (Lauren Miller, Ashley Donovan, Lilly Schmidt, Claire Edmondson) — This group qualified for the Drake Relays and posted the seventh-fastest time in Iowa this year in 9:32.86

Western Dubuque sprint medley (Catie Brosius, Carley Steffen, Jenna Burds, Audrey Biermann) — Several talented athletes in this lineup, with Biermann serving as somewhat of a breakout star in her first season, anchoring the Bobcats to a fourth-place state medal.

Hempstead distance medley (Emalee Ryder, Natasha Freiburger, Grace Ries, Emma Holesinger) — A strong representation of the Mustangs’ distance running that has three of its four members coming back next year.

Dyersville Beckman shuttle hurdle (Kiersten Schmitt, Addie McDermott, Addie Koelker, Heather Boeckenstedt) — Pleasing mix of youth and experience, freshmen Schmitt and Koelker joined vets McDermott and Boeckenstedt to clinch back-to-back state titles for the Trailblazers.

Copyright, Telegraph Herald. This story cannot be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without prior authorization from the TH.